The Resource Jokes for the gunmen, Mazen Maarouf ; translated from the Arabic by Jonathan Wright

Jokes for the gunmen, Mazen Maarouf ; translated from the Arabic by Jonathan Wright

Label
Jokes for the gunmen
Title
Jokes for the gunmen
Statement of responsibility
Mazen Maarouf ; translated from the Arabic by Jonathan Wright
Creator
Author
Subject
Genre
Language
  • eng
  • ara
  • eng
Summary
A collection of stories in the vein of Roald Dahl, Etgar Keret and Amy Hempel. These are stories of what the world looks like from a child's pure but sometimes vengeful or muddled perspective. These are stories of life in a war zone, life peppered by surreal mistakes, tragic accidents and painful encounters. These are stories of fantasist matadors, lost limbs and perplexed voyeurs. This is a collection about sex, death and the all-important skill of making life into a joke
Member of
Cataloging source
UKMGB
http://library.link/vocab/creatorName
Maʻrūf, Māzin
Dewey number
892.737
Index
no index present
LC call number
PJ7946.A695
LC item number
N8513 2019
Literary form
short stories
http://library.link/vocab/subjectName
  • Children and war
  • War and society
Label
Jokes for the gunmen, Mazen Maarouf ; translated from the Arabic by Jonathan Wright
Instantiates
Publication
Note
Originally published in Arabic as Nukāt lil-musallaḥīn in 2015 by Riad El-Rayyes Books, Beirut
Carrier category
volume
Carrier category code
  • nc
Carrier MARC source
rdacarrier
Content category
text
Content type code
  • txt
Content type MARC source
rdacontent
Contents
Jokes for the gunmen -- Matador -- Gramophone -- Cinema -- Biscuits -- A joke -- The angel of death -- Other-people's-dreams syndrome -- Aquarium -- Portion of jam -- Curtain -- Juan and Ausa
Dimensions
20 cm
Extent
162 pages
Isbn
9781846276675
Lccn
2018493830
Media category
unmediated
Media MARC source
rdamedia
Media type code
  • n
System control number
  • on1079203704
  • (OCoLC)1079203704
Label
Jokes for the gunmen, Mazen Maarouf ; translated from the Arabic by Jonathan Wright
Publication
Note
Originally published in Arabic as Nukāt lil-musallaḥīn in 2015 by Riad El-Rayyes Books, Beirut
Carrier category
volume
Carrier category code
  • nc
Carrier MARC source
rdacarrier
Content category
text
Content type code
  • txt
Content type MARC source
rdacontent
Contents
Jokes for the gunmen -- Matador -- Gramophone -- Cinema -- Biscuits -- A joke -- The angel of death -- Other-people's-dreams syndrome -- Aquarium -- Portion of jam -- Curtain -- Juan and Ausa
Dimensions
20 cm
Extent
162 pages
Isbn
9781846276675
Lccn
2018493830
Media category
unmediated
Media MARC source
rdamedia
Media type code
  • n
System control number
  • on1079203704
  • (OCoLC)1079203704

Library Locations

    • Vancouver Public Library - Central BranchBorrow it
      350 West Georgia Street, Vancouver, BC, V6B 6B1, CA
      49.280188 -123.114755
    • Joe Fortes Branch Vancouver Public LibraryBorrow it
      870 Denman Street, Vancouver, BC, V6G 2L8, CA
      49.290355 -123.136769
    • Mount Pleasant Branch Vancouver Public LibraryBorrow it
      1 Kingsway, Vancouver, BC, V5T 3H7, CA
      49.264409 -123.100808
    • Renfrew Branch Vancouver Public LibraryBorrow it
      2969 E. 22nd Ave., Vancouver, BC, V5M 2Y3, CA
      49.250816 -123.04248
    • West Point Grey Branch Vancouver Public LibraryBorrow it
      4480 West 10th Ave., Vancouver, BC, V6R 2H9, CA
      49.26369 -123.208342
Processing Feedback ...